If you have been convicted of DUI in certain counties in California, you may have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car. The ignition interlock is a device that stops a person from being able to drive their car if they have a measurable amount of alcohol in their system. The device does this by measuring a person’s breath alcohol level to see if they are registering a level of alcohol consumption.
In order to start a car with an ignition interlock device installed, you must blow into a handheld mouthpiece that will measure your breath alcohol level. If your breath alcohol level is zero, your car will start. If your breath alcohol level is measurable (o.01 or more), the car will not start. The judge in a case involving a first-time DUI offender has the discretion to order the offender to install an ignition interlock device on their car. In a pilot county, the Ignition Interlock Device is mandatory on all first time DUIs. Penalties increase for each subsequent DUI, however the Ignition Interlock Device may provide for an opportunity to obtain a restricted license on a second time DUI.
Ignition Interlock FAQ’s
1) What Happens If I Have An Ignition Interlock Device And Fail The Breath Alcohol Test?
If you have an ignition interlock device on your car and fail the breath alcohol test, the device will enter a short lockout period for several minutes. If you fail another breath alcohol test, the lockout period will be longer. The lockout period will allow alcohol to dissolve from your mouth and give you time to decide why you failed the test.
2) How long would a first-time DUI offender have to have the ignition interlock device installed on their car?
First-time DUI offenders who are ordered to have an ignition interlock device put on their car usually need to have it on for about 5 months.
3) How Long Do Repeat DUI Offenders Have To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed on Their Car?
Second-time DUI offenders may have to have an ignition interlock device installed on their car for about 1 year. Third-time DUI offenders may have to have the device installed for about 2 years. Fourth-time DUI offenders may have to have the device installed for about 3 years.
4) Does the Ignition Interlock Device Shut Off A Car’s Engine?
No. The ignition interlock device will make the car’s horn sound if you fail a repeat breath alcohol test. The car’s lights will usually flash until you pass the breath test or until you shut off the engine.
Former Prosecutor, Diana Aizman Providing Legal Analysis
- California DUI Classes & Drunk Driving Programs
- DUI Driving Patterns
- Los Angeles DUI Attorney explains “Dry Reckless” as a Plea Bargain in California
- Attorney Explains Additional DUI Penalty for Speed & Reckless Driving
- Ignition Interlock Device List
- Ignition Interlocks Centuy Council Information
- Ignition Interlocks reduce alcohol impaired driving
Hiring An Attorney
The state of California has implemented tough drunk driving laws, including the requirement of having ignition interlock devices installed on cars of repeat DUI offenders. Drivers who have been convicted of Driving under the influence in California may have worries about possible license suspensions and may also have worries about being able to drive their children to school and drive themselves to work with an ignition interlock device on their car.
At the Aizman Law Firm, our experienced DUI attorneys can help you with questions you might have overlooked about going on with a normal life while an ignition interlock device is installed on your car.
We have local offices in Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, Woodland Hills, Burbank, Torrance, San Bernardino, Sherman Oaks, Long Beach, Studio City, Santa Monica, Ventura, Riverside, and Orange County.